General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alergies-Bandana-mask? What works?

Old 05-20-2009, 01:45 PM
duoglider
Road Warrior
Received 300 Likes on 181 Posts
Default Alergies-Bandana-mask? What works?

I've been riding bikes for 40 years and just in the last couple of years the Spring allergy season has started affecting me. Aside from doping up on Claratin or Zyrtek I don't want to geek out andwear a dust or pollen mask so I've thought of trying a bandana over my face to see if that will help filter the air. Last Spring I rode to Houston and spent two days there but wasn't aware that the pine pollen count that week was 4 thousand times higher than normal. After two days of it I ended up in a doctor's office and it took 3 months to clear my lungs and bronchial tubes of the pine pollen. This year it just the usual Springtime ragweed, fungus, and other standard airborne agitants. Do any of you other riders have similar problems with allergies this time of year? And if so how do you work with it when you ride?

Old 05-20-2009, 01:57 PM
DSnoopy
Elite HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have real bad tree allergies, when they are in bloom. Not much helps, but a bandana will at least keep some of the pollen down. Certianly will not hurt. Personally, Flonaise works the best for me, medicine wise.

Also, I would recommend a Netti Pot (google it). It's a little strange to get used to, but doing it every now and then makes a BIG differense.

Old 05-20-2009, 02:01 PM
SgtMic
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 53 Likes on 47 Posts

I use Clariten. I've had allergies since I was a teeny bobber.
Happy as all get out when that product came into use.

Old 05-20-2009, 02:27 PM
Lincoln33
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts